Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill atย Breaking the Spine. The weekly event is meant to showcase eagerly anticipated upcoming releases…and to spread the word! This week I’m excited about:

23399273Title: I Am Princess X

Author: Cherie Priest

Genre: YA, CONTEMPORARY

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books

Anticipated Publication Date: May 26, 2015

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen, & illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.
Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.
Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.
Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon—her best friend, Libby, who lives.

Cherie Priest’s I AM PRINCESS X sounds seriously cool – experimental and fun. Priest is one of those authors that I’ve heard a ton of good things about but haven’t read actually read anything by her. I have no excuse. Le sigh. But I AM PRINCESS Xย is my chance to get aboard the Cherie Priest train, and I will not miss my stop! How great is that concept?It sounds like this one’s going to be a bit of a genre bender: elements of contemporary, fantasy, and thriller combine to make something totally unique. Actually, conceptually I AM PRINCESS X reminds me of A.S. King’s books – the highest of compliments, in my opinion.

I’ve been getting really into comics and graphic novels lately so I feel like it’s the perfect time to read a novel about them! Plus I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for metafiction. But if I’m really being honest about how I choose my Waiting on Wednesday titles, it’s all about that cover art. What can I say, I think artwork is an integral part of marketing books! Might as well appreciate all that work, right? I’m also a sucker for illustrated novels, and if the cover art is any indication then the art’s gonna be amazing! How badass is that sword? Cute sneakers, too.

Comments(8)

    • Jan

    • 8 years ago

    Oh, this sounds interesting–different than what I usually read. I’m adding it to my May list!

    1. Right?! When I saw the synopsis I perked right up and added it to the wish list immediately.

  1. That sounds pretty darn cool. The friend who isn’t really dead thing seems to be the new trope, Servants of the Storm did the concept recently. I have read Priest’s steampunk series and liked it quite a bit.

    1. I’m actually so excited about it, especially since it’s been ages since the last time I read a contemporary (ish) book. Glad to hear that Priest has your stamp of approval! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. At first I thought that was a picture of a flyer for the a comic book. That’s the actual cover? Pretty awesome!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    1. Hahaha, that’s what my guy said too! He was all “Uhh…kind of a weird angle for a photo, don’t you think?” Say what you will about YA, those books get some of the best cover art.

    • Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    • 8 years ago

    Gotta love a princess with both a sword and high-tops!

    1. Too true! I’d hazard a guess and say that it’s hard to keep good form in heels. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.